<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'?><?xml-stylesheet href="http://www.blogger.com/styles/atom.css" type="text/css"?><feed xmlns='http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom' xmlns:openSearch='http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearchrss/1.0/' xmlns:georss='http://www.georss.org/georss' xmlns:gd='http://schemas.google.com/g/2005' xmlns:thr='http://purl.org/syndication/thread/1.0'><id>tag:blogger.com,1999:blog-6404283481705988622</id><updated>2011-12-27T03:44:38.892-08:00</updated><title type='text'>McAfee SiteAdvisor's slander</title><subtitle type='html'></subtitle><link rel='http://schemas.google.com/g/2005#feed' type='application/atom+xml' href='http://muquit.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default'/><link rel='self' type='application/atom+xml' href='http://www.blogger.com/feeds/6404283481705988622/posts/default?max-results=100'/><link rel='alternate' type='text/html' href='http://muquit.blogspot.com/'/><link rel='hub' href='http://pubsubhubbub.appspot.com/'/><author><name>mm</name><uri>http://www.blogger.com/profile/05250834773350492714</uri><email>noreply@blogger.com</email><gd:image rel='http://schemas.google.com/g/2005#thumbnail' width='16' height='16' src='http://img2.blogblog.com/img/b16-rounded.gif'/></author><generator version='7.00' uri='http://www.blogger.com'>Blogger</generator><openSearch:totalResults>1</openSearch:totalResults><openSearch:startIndex>1</openSearch:startIndex><openSearch:itemsPerPage>100</openSearch:itemsPerPage><entry><id>tag:blogger.com,1999:blog-6404283481705988622.post-3232544435591629405</id><published>2008-11-19T10:49:00.000-08:00</published><updated>2008-11-19T11:35:24.419-08:00</updated><title type='text'>McAfee SiteAdvisor's slander</title><content type='html'>Some people reported that some version of McAfee virus scanner  detects  one of my software &lt;a href="http://muquit.com/muquit/software/mailsend/mailsend.html"&gt;mailsend&lt;/a&gt; as Gaobot virus. The root of the probelm is &lt;a href="http://www.siteadvisor.com/"&gt;McAfee SiteAdvisor&lt;/a&gt;. It falsely claiming that mailsend is a virus! They are basically ruining the reputation of my site &lt;a href="http://www.muquit.com/"&gt;http://www.muquit.com/&lt;/a&gt;, which solely exists (for more than 12 years) to serve the Internet community with free software I wrote. As yahoo uses McAfee SiteAdvisor software, my site shows up as all red flagged in search. It's a shame yahoo has become so clueless! Apparently it is nothing new, McAfee SiteAdvisor is notorious for flagging sites falsely. &lt;a href="http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&amp;amp;client=firefox-a&amp;amp;rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&amp;amp;q=McAfee+siteadvisor+and+false+positive&amp;amp;btnG=Search"&gt;Google on it&lt;/a&gt;, you will see what I mean.  &lt;p&gt; I scanned with &lt;b&gt;Trend Micro PC-cillin v 15.30.1151&lt;/b&gt;, and McAfee's very own &lt;b&gt;Viruscan Enterprise 8.0&lt;/b&gt;, Other people have reported they scanned with &lt;b&gt;Norton Antivirus&lt;/b&gt;, &lt;b&gt;ClamAV 0.94.1/8645&lt;/b&gt;, &lt;b&gt;avast! v4.8 Home Edition&lt;/b&gt; and found mailsend is clean. &lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt; The site: &lt;a href="http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/muquit.com/downloads/6455549/"&gt;http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/muquit.com/downloads/6455549/&lt;/a&gt; claims that mailsend modifies registry:  &lt;/p&gt;&lt;pre&gt;CHANGE  [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Prefetcher]&lt;br /&gt;CHANGE  TracesProcessed=dword:00000010&lt;br /&gt;CHANGE  TracesSuccessful=dword:0000000c&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/pre&gt;  &lt;h3&gt;This is just insane!&lt;/h3&gt; mailsend does not have any code to mess with registry. &lt;p&gt; Here is my opinion on this:&lt;br /&gt;&lt;b&gt;Whoever reported that mailsend is a virus, was infected with Gaobot and mailsend was corrupted. I know the program is not corrupted and it has no code to mess with registry, so I think this explanation makes sense. It is also quite possible McAfee's software is just outright buggy.&lt;br /&gt;If you have a better explanation, please post your comment.&lt;/b&gt;  &lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt; If you are interested to verify, I am leaving the original file: mailsend1.15b5.exe.zip (available at the           &lt;a href="http://muquit.com/muquit/software/mailsend/mailsend.html"&gt;mailsend&lt;/a&gt; page).&lt;br /&gt;MD5 sum: deb005aee615bbcae84fd9d87b8d6e8d  &lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt; Check the bottom of the  &lt;a href="http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/muquit.com/downloads/6455549/"&gt;SiteAdvisor&lt;/a&gt; page and check the size nd MD5  sum to make sure you are dealing with the same file.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt; &lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt; Please verify with your Virus scanner and post your comment, I would appreciate it!.  &lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;  &lt;/p&gt;&lt;h3&gt; It's a shame McAfee accepts this kind claim without verifying themselves. If you use my software and if you are a user of MacAfee products, let MacAfee know about this problem and spread the word about the abuse and slander by MacAfee SiteAdvisor.  I do not gain financially from my site but this kind of irresponsible behavior from MacAfee will certainly harm many online businesses. &lt;/h3&gt;&lt;div class="blogger-post-footer"&gt;&lt;img width='1' height='1' src='https://blogger.googleusercontent.com/tracker/6404283481705988622-3232544435591629405?l=muquit.blogspot.com' alt='' /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</content><link rel='replies' type='application/atom+xml' href='http://muquit.blogspot.com/feeds/3232544435591629405/comments/default' title='Post Comments'/><link rel='replies' type='text/html' href='http://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=6404283481705988622&amp;postID=3232544435591629405' title='22 Comments'/><link rel='edit' type='application/atom+xml' href='http://www.blogger.com/feeds/6404283481705988622/posts/default/3232544435591629405'/><link rel='self' type='application/atom+xml' href='http://www.blogger.com/feeds/6404283481705988622/posts/default/3232544435591629405'/><link rel='alternate' type='text/html' href='http://muquit.blogspot.com/2008/11/mcafee-siteadvisors-slander.html' title='McAfee SiteAdvisor&apos;s slander'/><author><name>mm</name><uri>http://www.blogger.com/profile/05250834773350492714</uri><email>noreply@blogger.com</email><gd:image rel='http://schemas.google.com/g/2005#thumbnail' width='16' height='16' src='http://img2.blogblog.com/img/b16-rounded.gif'/></author><thr:total>22</thr:total></entry></feed>
